Seatrade Cruise News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

More states join IMO call to designate seafarers as key workers

IMO Secretary-General Kitack Lim called on member states that have not yet designated seafarers as key workers to do so as a matter of urgency
Forty-five International Maritime Organization member states and one associate member have now designated seafarers as key workers, a key step in resolving the ongoing crew change crisis.

In a circular letter issued this week, IMO Secretary-General Kitack Lim called on member states that have not yet done so to take action as a matter of urgency.  

Critical to resolving crew change crisis

Key worker designation for seafarers is essential to exempt these professionals from specific COVID-related travel restrictions, allowing them to travel between their country of residence and ships, and to be repatriated at the end of their contracts. This is critical to resolve the crew change crisis, which currently leaves hundreds of thousands of seafarers trapped at sea or stuck at home and unable to join ships. 

Could play a role in priority vaccination

It could even play a key role in granting them priority access to vaccination

The plight of stranded seafarers is highlighted in an IMO video featuring seafarers who describe the challenges they have faced due to the pandemic, and the impacts of the ongoing crew change crisis on their physical and mental health. 

Resolutions urging governments to designate seafarers as key workers have been adopted by IMO, the United Nations General Assembly and the International Labour Organization.

States that have signed on

Member states that have designated seafarers as key workers include Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Cyprus, Denmark, France, Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece,  Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Kiribati, Liberia, Marshall Islands, Moldova, Montenegro, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States and Yemen. Associate member Hong Kong (China) has also done so.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.