Seatrade Cruise News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Carla Salvadό elected new president of MedCruise

Anne Kalosh
Carla Salvadό succeeds Stavros Hatzakos as MedCruise president
Carla Salvadό, marketing and cruise manager of the Port of Barcelona, is elected as the new president of MedCruise.

The election for president and new board of directors took place at the 45th MedCruise General Assembly held in Barcelona, Spain. Salvadό succeeds out-going president Stavros Hatzakos, general manager of Port of Piraeus who held the position for three years. He will continue serving the Association as Honorary President.

Salvadό started working at the Port of Barcelona in 1992, and was first involved in the cruise industry in 2003. She worked for three years as Secretary General of MedCruise, and served its BoD in subsequent years. She has studied Economics and Business Management at the Pompeu Fabra University and ESADE Business School.

Salvado commented: ‘I am very confident that the Association will continue to effectively represent all cruise ports in the Med and its adjoining seas. MedCruise is a unique association that unites and represents cruise ports that host over 20% of the global cruise traffic. I would like thank MedCruise members that trust me to lead the Association, and I am looking forward to working with all our members to promote cruising activities in each of them.’

MedCruise also elected its Board of Directors for 2014-17. They are Kristijan Pavic (Dubrovnik, Croatia, svp), Maria Cano (Palamόs, Spain, vp), Figen Ayan (Istanbul, Turkey), Andreia Fernandes Ventura (Lisbon, Portugal), Anne-Sophie Peyran (French Riviera Ports, France), Airam Díaz Pastor (Tenerife Ports, Spain), Lotfi El Ajmi (Tunisian Ports, Tunisia), Elvira  Leschinskaya (Odessa, Ukraine),  Boyan Babic (Koper, Slovenia),  Giampiero  Costagli (Portoferraio, Italy), Marijan  Petkovic (Sibenik, Croatia), and Vlado  Mezak (Rijeka, Croatia).
The new Board of Directors decided that the MedCruise Secretariat will continue in Greece and reappointed Thanos Pallis as the secretary general of the Association.
The 45th MedCruise General Assembly also welcomed two new members, Portofino, and Gioia Tauro, both from Italy, rising port membership to 73.
The 46th MedCruise General Assembly will take place in Zadar, Croatia, June 3-6, 2015.