Seatrade Cruise News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

IAATO members elect new chairman

IAATO members elect new chairman
The International Association of Antarctica Tour Operators elected Abercrombie & Kent USA's Bob Simpson to chair the executive committee.

IAATO meetings are remarkable, Simpson said, in that members—many who compete in the business world—'can sit down together and constructively discuss how to manage their activities in a way that will have no more than a minor or transitory impact on the Antarctic environment.

'It's a challenge embraced by all members,' he added.

IAATO currently has 126 members.

Simpson, vp expedition cruising for A&K, succeeds Marlynda Elstgeest of Waterproof Expeditions.

Elstgeest remains on IAATO's executive committee, along with Rich Pruitt of Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd., Isabelle Vareille of Ponant and Skip Novak of Pelagic Expeditions. Prash Karnik of Seabourn joined the committee for the first time.