Seatrade Cruise News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Seatrade Cruise Awards winners announced at Seatrade Europe

European Cruise Personality of the Year is Karl J. Pojer, center. At left is Per Bjørnsen of V.Ships Leisure, sponsor of the award. Seatrade's Mary Bond is at right
Karl J. Pojer, CEO, Hapag-Lloyd Cruises and CLIA Germany chairman, was named European Personality of the Year at the Seatrade Cruise Awards 2017, announced Wednesday night at Seatrade Europe in Hamburg.

Outstanding Contribution Award went to Antonius Heuer, most recently VP, global cruise, Oracle Hospitality Cruise, while Port Personality of the Year went to Angie Redhead, cruise and operations manager, Liverpool Cruise Terminal and chair of CruiseBritain.

Port of the Year is Tortola Pier Park, collected by Alfred Henley, managing director, British Virgin Islands Ports Authority. Finalists were Port of Akureyri and Port of Olden-Nordfjord.

Destination of the Year is Le Havre Tourism Board, collected by Valerie Conan, director, cruise department. Finalists were Cruise Copenhagen and Québec City.

Supplier of the Year is Coltraco Ultrasonics, collected by Clare Hunter, head of marketing & communications. Finalists were Australian Reef Pilots Pty Ltd and Lufthansa Industry Solutions.

Marketing Initiative of the Year went to Holland America Line and O, The Oprah Magazine Partnership, collected by Roger Frizzell, SVP and chief communications officer, Carnival Corp. & plc. Finalists were NetMatch Travel Technology Solutions and Var Provence Cruise Club for the Cruise Friendly Quality Label.

Environmental Initiative Award winner is PresentWater AS, collected by Geir Erik Samnoy, managing director. Finalists were Kai Tak Cruise Terminal and Vision of the Fjords.

Recipient of the Innovative Shorex of the Year is Abercrombie & Kent (Akorn) for The Koala Clancy Foundation Tour & Book, collected by David Vass, SVP, worldwide cruise business & operations. Finalists were European Cruise Services' Five-Star London Tour for Disney Cruise Line and Karavan Travel for Ancient Ephesus.

The Seatrade Cruise Awards, sponsored by Oracle Hospitality, were announced during the CLIA Germany Annual Dinner on the occasion of Seatrade Europe. V.Ships Leisure sponsored the European Personality of the Year Award, while Cruise Baltic sponsored the Marketing Initiative of the Year, a new award.

'Once again, we have had a staggering number of entries—over 100—from across the globe,' said Mary Bond, managing director for publishing, Seatrade, who emceed the awards and was joined on stage by Ingo Sorensen, AVP, global cruise sales, Oracle Hospitality. 'The caliber of entries was also exceptionally high and I am grateful to the independent panel of judges who spent considerable time deciding the worthy winners,' Bond added.

Held annually for 11 years, the Seatrade Cruise Awards recognize and reward the best of international cruise achievement and act as a catalyst for driving continuous improvement across the industry.