Seatrade Cruise News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Seatrade honors Shanghai Baoshan's Madam Wang for outstanding cruise contribution

Madam Wang awarded Cruise Award
Madam Wang Hong was presented Seatrade's Outstanding Contribution to the Growth of the Cruise Industry Award by Andrew Williams of Informa Global Exhibitions
Madam Wang Hong, party secretary general of Shanghai Municipal People’s Government, Baoshan District was announced as the recipient of the prestigious Outstanding Contribution to the Growth of the Cruise Industry Award at Tuesday night's presentation ceremony for the 31st Seatrade Awards, which took place at London’s Guildhall.

Unable to attend the evening, Wang was presented the award at Seatrade Cruise Global by Andrew Williams, president, maritime group, Informa Global Exhibitions, in front of Kelly Craighead, president and CEO, Cruise Lines International Association; Arnold Donald, president and CEO, Carnival Corp. & plc; and Pierfrancesco Vago, executive chairman, MSC Cruises.

A video link was shown to the nearly 250 guests on the evening at Seatrade Awards.

'Tenacious drive, ambition and vision'

'We are delighted to recognise Madam Wang Hong for her personal contribution to the growth of the cruise industry in China. Her tenacious drive, ambition and vision have been critical in supporting the growth of cruise tourism across the Asia Pacific region,' said Mary Bond, group director, Seatrade Cruise.

Young Person of the Year

Further high-profile personalities honored at the Seatrade Awards included Noura Al Dhaheri, CEO, Maqta Gateway Co. as Young Person of the Year 2019.

Integration of Women in the Maritime Sector Award

Kirsi Tikka, EVP and senior maritime adviser, ABS, received the Integration of Women in the Maritime Sector Award.

Global Performer 2019

Hapag-Lloyd AG was selected Global Performer 2019 – sponsored by DP World. Maximilian Rothkopf, CEO, Hapag-Lloyd, accepted the award.

Personality of the Year

Personality of the Year 2019 was John Platsidakis, honorary chairman of INTERCARGO, director of Angelicoussis Shipping Group and managing director of Maran Dry Management.

Lifetime Achievement

The Lifetime Achievement Award 2019 went to Lord Mountevans, chairman, Maritime London, and president, Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers.

A total of 13 winners were announced at the event, hosted by Bob Jaques, editor, Seatrade Maritime Review, in the presence of special guest Chris Grayling MP, secretary of state for transport, and official guest of honor Dame Jane Francis, director, British Antarctic Survey.

According to tradition, the winners remained a secret until the presentation ceremony and were announced to great fanfare.

Further winners were:

•         Safety at Sea - sponsored by Bureau Veritas: VIKING Life-Saving Equipment for VIKING LifeCraft

•         Clean Shipping: Thordon Bearings for COMPAC

•         Investment in People: Synergy Marine Group for Investment in People

•         Digital Technology – sponsored by CCS: Northrop Grumman Sperry Marine for VisionMaster Net

•         Cyber Security: ABS for FCI Cyber Method

•         Fuel Efficiency: Teekay Offshore for Teekay E-Shuttle – Training Emissions into Fuel

•         Deal of the Year: Reed Smith

Sponsors of the Seatrade Awards 2019 included Bureau Veritas, China Classification Society, DNV GL and DP World.

TAGS: people events