Seatrade Cruise News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Six candidates nominated for IMO secretary-general

Six candidates nominated for IMO secretary-general
Six candidates have been nominated by their governments for the role of secretary-general of the International Maritime Organization.

They are Andreas Chrysostomou (Cyprus), Vitaly Klyuev (Russian Federation), Ki-tack Lim (Republic of Korea), Maximo Q. Mejia Jr. (Philippines), Andreas Nordseth (Denmark) and Juvenal Shiundu (Kenya).

The election for the post will be held at the 114th session of the 40-member IMO Council, which meets June 29 to July 3. The council's decision will be submitted to the IMO Assembly for approval during its 29th session, Nov. 23 to Dec. 2.

Secretary-general Koji Sekimizu ends his four-year term on Dec. 31.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.