Seatrade Cruise News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Debbie Summers re-elected chair of New Zealand Cruise Association

Debbie Summers said the new board will put its collective skills into restarting cruising in New Zealand
New Zealand Cruise Association’s incoming board on Friday elected Debbie Summers, executive director of ID New Zealand, as chairman for the sixth consecutive year.

Jacqui Lloyd of Destination Marlborough was elected deputy chairman and David Kriel of Napier Port is treasurer.

Summers said she is delighted to have the confidence of the board, as continuity is important at this critical time in New Zealand’s cruise industry.

New board

The new board was announced at last Tuesday’s annual general meeting which was held as a Zoom call with the country in lockdown.

Newcomers are David Kriel (Napier Port), Oscar Nathan (Tourism Bay of Plenty) and Avinash Murthy (Ports of Auckland).

They joined existing members Debbie Summers, Jacqui Lloyd, Kevin Winders (Port Otago), Douglas Colaco (ISS McKay), Sean Marsh (Te Puia) and Tansy Tompkins (Tourism New Zealand’s representative). 

2022 conference in Auckland

This year’s annual conference was cancelled for the second year in a row and the 2022 conference is set for Auckland on August 18-19.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.