Seatrade Cruise News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Robyn Woodhead new chair of IAATO executive committee

'I feel passionately about the environment we operate in and confident in our ability to hold our course through the challenges our industry faces,' Robyn Woodhead said
The International Association of Antarctica Tour Operators appointed executive committee member Robyn Woodhead as its chair.

Woodhead, co-director of White Desert Ltd., joined the committee in 2017, having been an active member of IAATO since 2010. She also serves on the association's climate change, gateway and deep field committees.

Holding course through the challenges

'It is certainly going to be a challenge pivoting our industry into a post-pandemic world and into a new future where we will need to manage for safe and responsible tourism growth,' Woodhead said.

'I feel passionately about the environment we operate in and confident in our ability to hold our course through the challenges our industry faces and into a more robust and strengthened space.'

IAATO Executive Director Gina Greer said Woodhead's involvement with the executive, climate change and deep field committees underscores her commitment to 'addressing challenges in a dynamic way, and she has been instrumental in evolving the committees to where they are today.'

Outgoing chair Mark van der Hulst

The appointment comes as Mark van der Hulst steps down after serving on the executive committee for the maximum term of five years, the last two as chair.

Greer said: 'Mark has been an invaluable mentor and colleague to me in the 13 months since I joined IAATO. His love of IAATO and his commitment to the organization and its success is palpable.

'Transitioning into a new field at the beginning of a pandemic presented a very unique situation for me. Mark helped me navigate through these uncertain times with wisdom and good humour and was accessible every step of the way.'

Steve Wellmeier and John McKeon

Joining the executive committee are former Finance Committee Chair Steve Wellmeier (Poseidon Expeditions) and outgoing IAATO Membership Committee Chair John McKeon (Polar Latitudes).


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
MS Seatrade 2D 334
Secure your place at Seatrade Cruise Med 2022!

14 - 15 September 2022, Trade Fair and Congress Center of Málaga

Registration for Seatrade Cruise Med 2022 is open!

Join us to discover the cruise market in the Mediterranean and its adjoining seas. Take a look at the event agenda at a glance and see what we have in store for you at this year's event. 

Hosted by the Port of Málaga, Málaga City Council, Costa del Sol and Andalucía, come together with fellow high-level international professionals from every sector to source new solutions, build profitable partnerships and expand your cruise network.

MS Seatrade 2D 334