Seatrade Cruise News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

PRESS RELEASE: Seatrade Cruise Awards Announces 2020 Winners

Seatrade Cruise announces the winners of the 14th edition of the Seatrade Cruise Awards.

COLCHESTER, England (6 October 2020) – Seatrade Cruise Awards, the global cruise industry’s most distinguished award programme, announced this year’s winners at a virtual ceremony on 6 October 2020, celebrating its 14th edition during the first-ever Seatrade Cruise Virtual.

“The programme, once again, received a record number of nominees recognising the best in international cruise industry success, ambition and innovation,” says Mary Bond, Group Director, Seatrade Cruise. “We congratulate our outstanding awards recipients, and express gratitude to our independent panel of judges for their devoted effort to selecting our winners.”

The awards, sponsored by Oracle Hospitality, were presented by Mary Bond, Group Director, Seatrade Cruise, alongside Ingo Soerensen, Area VP, Global Cruise Sales, Oracle Hospitality as well as Cruise Baltic’s Claus Bodker and V. Ships Leisure’s Per Bjornsen.

Per Bjornsen, Director of V.Ships Leisure, presenting the Personality of the Year award to Mário Ferreira, chairman of Mystic Invest, commented, “this year’s Personality has lead a dedicated team who has evolved from a regional river cruise operator to a global player with both his own brand or by partnering with other operators. The company is ready for a massive expansion in brand new ships using the latest technologies and has been one of the first to restart cruising with robust testing and operating protocols demonstrating resilience in a challenging environment.”

The complete list of award winners was announced as follows:

Destination of the Year

  • Barbados

Supplier of the Year

  • Vikand Solutions

Innovative Shorex of the Year

  • Intercruises Shoreside & Port Services - Plastic Fishing, The Netherlands

Port of the Year

  • Icy Strait Point, Alaska

Sustainability Award, sponsored by Cruise Baltic

  • Silversea Cruises – The Silversea Fund for the Galapagos

Expedition Cruise Initiative of the Year

  • Scenic Neptune luxury submersible onboard Scenic Eclipse

Talent Development of the Year

  • Peter Kollar, Head of Training & Development, CLIA Australasia

Seatrade Outstanding Achievement Award 2020

  • Universal Marine Medical Supply “Unimed”

Seatrade Lifetime Achievement Award for Services to Cruising

  • David Vass, Senior Vice President, Worldwide Cruise Business & Operations, Abercrombie & Kent Destination Management

Seatrade Cruise Personality of the Year 2020, sponsored by V.Ships Leisure

  • Mário Ferreira Chairman, Mystic Invest Holding

The 2020 Seatrade Cruise Awards ceremony is now available for viewing on-demand here.

To learn more about Seatrade Cruise Events, visit Follow Seatrade Cruise on social media: Facebook  (@SeatradeCruiseEvents), Twitter and Instagram (@SeatradeCruise). #STCVirtual #STCTalks #STCGlobal #STCMed #STCEurope #STCAsia #STCAwards #STCME



Seatrade Cruise Global | 12-15 April 2021 | Miami, USA

Seatrade Cruise Europe | 8-11 September 2021 | Hamburg, Germany

Seatrade Cruise Asia Pacific | Dates & Location TBC




About Seatrade Cruise Awards

Seatrade Cruise Awards forms part of the series of global Seatrade events, websites and publications that covers every aspect of the cruise and maritime industries, bringing together key people to encourage innovation and to produce powerful learning, networking and promotional platforms. 

Founded in 1970, the Seatrade brand is part of the events portfolio for Informa PLC - a leading international events, intelligence and scholarly research group.

For more details on this event, please visit Find out more about Seatrade and Informa Markets, visit Seatrade and Informa Markets.



FINN Partners

Virginia Sheridan / Luz Castillo


[email protected]