Seatrade Cruise News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Assn. of Canadian Port Authorities elects Nanaimo chief as chair

Nanaimo's Bernie Dumas, ACPA's chair for 2014-2015
Bernie Dumas, president and ceo of Nanaimo Port Authority, was unanimously elected to chair the Association of Canadian Port Authorities (ACPA) and leads an eight-member board that includes some of Canada's leading and emerging cruise ports.

A 30-year veteran of the marine transportation and shipping industries, Dumas has helmed the Nanaimo port since January 2009. He has held other senior executive positions in the marine transportation industry in Canada and is the past chair of the Canadian delegation of the  American Association of Port Authorities.

Karen Oldfield, president and ceo of the Halifax Port Authority, was elected vice chair, and Pierre Gagnon, president and ceo of the Port of Sept-Îles, corporate secretary/treasurer.

The new board for 2014-2015 was selected at ACPA's annual conference and annual general meeting in Bathurst, New Brunswick.

The new leadership group said it will be a priority to work with the federal government to strengthen Canada’s ports to support increased international trade.

'Empowering ports is critical to the future economic growth of Canada,' Dumas said, adding that ACPA has the opportunity now to 'pair Canada’s 21st-century trade agenda with 21st-century trade efficiency.'

Rounding out the eight-member board are Sean Hanrahan, St. John’s Port Authority; Mario Girard, Québec Port Authority; Donna Taylor, Oshawa Port Authority; Robin Silvester, Port Metro Vancouver; and Sylvie Vachon, Montréal Port Authority (past chair).