Seatrade Cruise News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

CLIA Australasia appoints new chairman

Left to right, back row: Adam Armstrong, Sarina Bratton, Steve Odell, Stuart Allison. Front row: Karen Christensen, Lynne Clarke and Jennifer Vandekreeke. (Andrew Millmore was away)
Steve Odell was elected chairman of CLIA Australasia at the annual general meeting in Sydney Thursday following the resignation of Gavin Smith, who is relocating to London as svp international for Royal Caribbean.

Smith replaced Karen Christensen as chairman in December 2010.

Odell, svp and md Asia Pacific for Norwegian Cruise Line Holdings, was chairman of International Cruise Council Australasia (now CLIA Australasia) from 2005 until 2006 when he was vp sales and marketing Asia Pacific for Silversea Cruises.

CLIA Australasia’s executive committe has been expanded to eight, with three new members—Princess Cruises vp Australia and New Zealand Stuart Allison, Royal Caribbean md Australia and New Zealand Adam Armstrong and Carnival Cruise Line vp Australia Jennifer Vandekreeke.

They join four existing members—Ponant chairman Asia Pacific Sarina Bratton, Silversea Cruises gm Australasia Karen Christensen, MSC Cruises Australia and New Zealand md Lynne Clarke and Travel the World md and gsa for Tauck, Andrew Millmore.

CLIA Australasia md Neil Linwood paid tribute to Smith and Carnival Australia executive chairman Ann Sherry, who joined the board as co-deputy chairman in December 2012, for their time and dedication to the organisation.