Seatrade Cruise News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Genting Hong Kong appoints non-executive director

Genting Hong Kong appoints non-executive director
Genting Hong Kong appointed corporate finance expert Justin Tan Wah Joo as non-executive director, taking the company's board to six members.

Tan, 64, has extensive experience in corporate finance and management, particularly in the leisure and hospitality business, and has served on the boards of a number of listed companies including other Genting enterprises.

He was a non-independent, non-executive director of Genting Malaysia Berhad ('GENM') from September to December 2005. Before that, Tan was executive director from April 1999 to August 2005. He was non-executive director of Genting Singapore Plc ('GENS') from November 1991 to October 2000 and served as its managing director from November 2000 to February 2010.

GENS has been listed on the main board of the Singapore Exchange Securities Trading Ltd. since December 2005. It was previously listed on the Luxembourg Stock Exchange until March 2007. GENM has been listed on the Main Market of Bursa Malaysia Securities Berhad since late 1989. GENS and GENM are subsidiaries of Genting Berhad ('GENT'). GENT and GENM are substantial shareholders of Genting HK.

Tan was also a director of Pacific Lottery Corp., listed on Canadian Venture Exchange, from 2003 to 2005, and a director of Genting UK Plc from 2006 to 2010. He was the president of Resorts World from early 2010 until he retired in April 2013.

Tan's term of office will last through Genting HK's 2015 annual general meeting, when he will become eligible for re-election.

Tan and his wife jointly hold 968,697 shares of the company.

Genting HK is chaired by ceo Tan Sri Lim Kok Thay. Other board members are Lim Keong Hui, executive director; Alan Howard Smith, deputy chairman and independent non-executive director; and two other independent non-executive directors, Heah Sieu Lay and Lam Wai Hon, Ambrose.