Seatrade Cruise News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Genting Hong Kong's Lim and Chua resign the NCLH board

Meyer Werft
KT Lim had chaired the Norwegian board for years. He is pictured at the February steel cutting for Star Cruises' newbuild, Genting World
The two Genting Hong Kong directors on Norwegian Cruise Line Holdings' board, including its chairman, Tan Sri KT Lim, have resigned, effective immediately.

The other departing director is David Chua, who left the presidency of Genting HK in July 2014, with effect from Jan. 2 this year after taking sabbatical leave and annual leave during his six months' notice period. Lim has been serving as acting president, in addition to chairman and ceo of Genting HK, since last July.

Genting HK said it has nominated two replacement directors who are expected to be appointed in due course. According to a filing, the resignations did not involve a disagreement with NCLH on any matter relating to operations, policies or practices.

The news came on a day when Genting HK announced it is acquiring Crystal Cruises.

Lim had chaired the NCLH board for years, and Genting HK remains the largest company's shareholder with a 25% stake. Apollo Management holds a 24% share, while TPG Capital has 7%.

Most of the remaining nine directors are affiliated with Apollo Management, the second largest shareholder. They are David Abrams, Adam Aron, Kevin Crowe, Steve Martinez and Robert Seminara. Director Karl Peterson represents TPG, another significant shareholder.

Further directors are John Chidsey of Red Book Connect; F. Robert Salerno, formerly of Avis; and Walter Revell of Revell Investments International.