Seatrade Cruise News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

NCL awards 100 teachers free cruises, three schools to get cash

'After such a challenging year, we are so happy to provide these unsung heroes a well-deserved cruise vacation,' Harry Sommer said
Norwegian Cruise Line announced the 100 winners of its 'Norwegian's Giving Joy' contest which recognizes extraordinary teachers across North America who bring joy to the classroom.

The 100 educators won a seven-night cruise for two and may select a sailing embarking from the US or Canada through summer 2023.

Plus cash donations for three schools

To enhance the prize and reward students as well, NCL is also giving a grand prize winner a $25,000 donation for his or her school, while the second and third place winners will receive a $15,000 and $10,000 donation, respectively, for their schools.

Aug. 19 awards show

Recipients of the donations will be announced during the Norwegian's Giving Joy Awards event on Aug. 19 at 8 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. PT. The ceremony will be open to the public and can be streamed live at and Facebook.

Viewers will also get to see Broadway and West End caliber performances from 'The Choir of Man' and other surprises.

'Phenomenal stories about selfless educators'

'After such a challenging year, we are so happy to provide these unsung heroes a well-deserved cruise vacation,' NCL President and CEO Harry Sommer said. 'We have heard phenomenal stories about how these selfless educators are going above and beyond and it couldn’t be more inspiring.'

The contest drew support for teachers all across the US and Canada, with winners from Alabama, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Ontario, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wisconsin.

The winners are detailed here.