Seatrade Cruise News is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Debbie Summers stands for re-election as chair of New Zealand Cruise Association

Debbie Summers feels that continuity is important at this critical time
Debbie Summers will stand for re-election as chairman of the New Zealand Cruise Association for the sixth consecutive year, following Tuesday’s annual general meeting which was held as a Zoom call with the nation in lockdown.

Summers told Seatrade Cruise News she believes continuity is important at this critical time in New Zealand’s cruise history.

The meeting was chaired by Jacqui Lloyd of Destination Marlborough as Summers is on bereavement leave following the death of her husband Brendan after a two-year battle with cancer.

New board members

David Kriel (Napier Port), Oscar Nathan (Tourism Bay of Plenty) and Avinash Murthy (Ports of Auckland) were elected to the board.

They join existing members Debbie Summers (executive director IDNZ), Jacqui Lloyd, Kevin Winders (Port Otago), Douglas Colaco (ISS McKay), Sean Marsh (Te Puia) and Tansy Tompkins (Tourism New Zealand’s representative). 

Election Friday

The new board will vote on Friday for the positions of chairman, deputy chairman and treasurer.

Chairman’s report

The chairman’s report presented to the meeting stressed the importance of cruising being included in any border reopening discussions.

It said the NZCA is deeply committed, with a united voice, to getting the cruise industry started again.

It made special mention of Tourism New Zealand, which, it said, contributes ‘enormously’ to the work of the association.

This year’s annual conference was cancelled for the second year running and the 2022 conference has been scheduled for August 18-19 in Auckland.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.